O Two / An Anthology

Edited by Leslie Scalapino


O Books
Original Language(s)
Additional Credits
Cover art by Leslie Scalapino
Design by George Mattingly
Edition, Year
First Edition, 1991
PaperbackWeb-Ready PDF
Digital, In Print

A collection of thirty-one poets and the artist Richard Tuttle in collaboration with Mei-mei Berssenbrugge. The poets in O Two (subtitled What Is the Inside? What Is the Outside? What is censoring? What is being censored?) are writing both the individual and the communal awareness at the same time or separately—in the words of Bernadette Mayer, a “Plural Dream of Social Life.” They’re writing what is not social, now. So we can see what that awareness is. The volume includes prose, poetry, and essays which delineate the poet’s/artists’ processes.

Among those included are Carla Harryman, Leslie Scalapino, Mei-mei Berssenbrugge, Richard Tuttle, Fanny Howe, Laura Moriarty, Gil Ott, Alan Davies, Bernadette Mayer, Clark Coolidge, Steve Benson, Hannah Weiner, Lynne Dreyer, Tina Darragh, Harryette Mullen, Victor Hernández Cruz, Kit Robinson, Cydney Chadwick, Bruce Andrews, Aaron Shurin, Laura Feldman, Norma Cole, Tina Darragh, Rae Armantrout, Hannah Weiner, Dennis Phillips, Todd Baron, Suzi Roberts, Beverly Dahlen, Sally Doyle, Jessica Grim, Karen Kelly, Geoffrey O’Brien, and Anne Waldman.

Leslie Scalapino
Leslie Scalapino (1947-2010) was born in Santa Barbara, California and raised in Berkeley. She is the author of thirty books of poetry, prose, inter-genre-fiction, plays, and essays, including a collaboration with artist Kiki Smith, The ... Read More

Dedicated support from individual readers like you funds our day-to-day operations and enables the programming we undertake in direct service to the visionary writers and artists whose works we champion.